We Are So Young Now

My grandma is celebrating her 85th birthday in a couple weeks. She’s my favorite person on this planet, she’s the dearest of all to me. She has done so much for me, supported me, told me the truth (age 14: “you could use a nose job”. age 20: “your face has outgrown your nose”) There’s only one problem… I’m so scared.

I don’t mean to detach myself from her, but I can’t deal with the fact that probably soon I am going to lose her. So… there I go… shutting out.

My mom asked me to make a slideshow with old pictures for the birthday party. We set by the great scattered piles of pictures and started fishing out my grandma’s photos.

I wonder what does a grandparent feel. I mean, what does it feel like when you are old? and you have younger generations? Old people seem to be so kind… I don’t know. I mean, I would think I’d be bitter knowing I can’t go back. How often do they think about death? What do they think about it? What does it feel like when your life is behind you? Do they still have dreams for themselves?

oh, i wish you did exist now...

I hope I don’t get there in a minute but, I want to find answers to these questions one day. I want to find out how my story ends. I want to experience all of that. All I know is, that I would love to have this privilege called aging.

my niece

Just to close this, I put a picture of my beautiful niece. I took it last weekend and I love how the light hits her face…

– Saffron

About saffroncopper

I'm the girl of your dreams. I may not exist. Go back to sleep.
This entry was posted in My Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

